Daily Variety
April 30, 2004

Prism nods shine light on Wood, Franz

By Addie Morfoot

The winners of the eighth annual Entertainment Industries Council's PRISM awards were announced Thursday night at the Hollywood Palladium.

Awards were given for the realistic depiction of alcohol, drug and tobacco use.

Anthony LaPaglia won for performance in a film festival, for "Happy Hour," while Evan Rachel Wood was honored for performance in a theatrical feature film, for "Thirteen." Dennis Franz got the nod for performance in a drama series episode for television for "NYPD Blue," and Peter Krause was hailed for performance in a drama series multi-episode storyline for "Six Feet Under."

Also winning was "City of God," which took home the kudo for theatrical feature film.

Honored for their contribution to the org were: HBO, TV doc series episode or special, for "America Undercover: Crank: Made in America"; MTV, TV teen nonfiction series episode or special, for "MTV News Now: Jack Osbourne: Back from Rehab"; and ESPN, TV news magazine series segment, for "SportsCenter," May 11, 2003.

E! Networks president Mindy Herman received the Larry Stewart Leadership & Inspiration Award.

For a complete list of PRISM Awards recipients go to variety.com.